Results Queensland Hillclimb Championships – Mt Cotton 2015

QHC HILLCLIMB Results 29th & 30th May 2015.

The 2015 Whites Diesels Queensland Hillclimb Championships were run under beautiful weather conditions that Queensland’s having become familiar with sunny and dry.

The Saturday practice had all drivers running just checking that their cars were ready for the main event on Sunday. But a few people had problems, Malcolm Oastler one of the outright contenders had electrical problems with the engine not revving above 8,000 RPM, Dean Amos and Michael von Rappard also suffered electrical issues and Warwick Hutchinson had broken his gearbox this all happened over the Saturday practice.

Malcolm Oastler QHC 2015 Photo by Steve Johns

Malcolm Oastler QHC 2015 Photo by Steve Johns

With a lot of hard work overnight from family and friends most of the cars that had issues were all running for Sunday. Malcolm Oastler struggled with the revving issues to set the fastest time of the day 38.30 sec giving him the QHC title. Second outright was Dean Tighe with a time of 38.69 and third outright was Michael von Rappard with a time of 38.85 sec.

Major trophies went to:
Tasman Building Society Perpetual Trophy for Fastest time of day:

Malcolm Oastler (38.30 sec.)

Glyn Scott Perpetual Trophy for fastest time by a sports car:

Mark Crespan (44.45 sec.)

Martin Tighe Trophy for best Formula Ford :

Rick Miles (45.54sec.)

Vince Appleby Trophy for fastest sedan:

Gary Ford (44.74 sec.)

Paul Aitken Trophy for best average time by a motorcycle powered car:

Michael von Rappard (40.63 sec.  “Average time”)

Hamilton Trophy for best performance by an historic vehicle:

Geoff Cohen.

John English Trophy for fastest time by a Queenslander:

Dean Thghe (38.69 sec.)

Accurrate Suspension top total:

Warwick Hutchinson (197.46 sec. total Time for all 5 Runs 39.49 sec.  “Average time”)


In total there was only 2 Rotary Hillclimb Racing Cars entered in this year’s QHC with an equal 4th outright and equal 3rd in class going to Warwick Hutchinson in his RPV02 (39.03) and Cameron Hurman in his Mazda Rx7 with a 33rd outright 2nd in class (48.74)

Cameron Hurman’s class “Marque Sports – 2001cc & Over” Cameron set his fastest time on his last run of the day with a time of (48.74 sec.) This time had Cameron finish an impressive 2nd in class.

Warwick Hutchinson's Rotary Turbo QHC 2015 - Photo by Steve Johns.

Warwick Hutchinson’s Rotary Turbo QHC 2015 – Photo by Steve Johns.


The next hillclimb event we will be running is the next round of the series at Mt Cotton on the 11th & 12th July.


Some of the photos on this entry were taken by “Steve Johns” – via the MGCCQ website.

CLICK HERE” to visit the MG Car Club – web site.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

This entry was posted on Monday, June 22nd, 2015 at 11:32 pm and is filed under Hillclimb Results. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.


Leave a Reply

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.